Dauphin Kings Neepawa Natives OCN Blizzard Portage Terriers Selkirk Steelers Steinbach Pistons Swan Valley Stampeders Virden Oil Capitals Wayway Wolverines Winkler Flyers Winnipeg Blues


The Selkirk Steelers held their annual team windup March 22nd at Gaffers in Lockport which gave team personnel, players, volunteers and families the opportunity to say farewell to another season. The evening, organized by the Steelers Booster Club featured a great dinner, speeches and team awards.

Saying farewell isn’t always easy especially for those 20-year-olds who have concluded their junior hockey playing career. Amongst those this year were forwards Ty Kraus and Riley Derlago. Both of these players exemplified the grit and heart that has been shown by many Steelers players before them. Kraus and Derlago not only went out as the top scorers on the team(56 points each) but also amongst the top 20 in the MJHL. Derlago who wore the “C” and Kraus an “A” were leaders both on and off the ice. They now hand the reigns over to the next crop of 20-year-olds and leaders as the team prepares for it’s 50th Season in 2016-2017.


Most improved: Colby Dudek

Playoff MVP: Jake Dudar

Regular Season MVP: Taylor Fisher

Iron Man Award: Cole McCartan and Riley Derlago

Top Scorer: Riley Derlago

Most Gentlemanly Player: Connor Barley

Top Rookie: Connor Barley

Best Local Player: Dallas Starodub

Top Defenceman: Taylor Fisher

Top Defensive Player: Dale Goodbrandson

“Dale Hughesman” Most Inspirational: Dale Goodbrandson

Citizenship Award for Community Involvement: Hayden Dola and Brett Friesen